Post Project Reflection

April 25, 2010 sew0927

1) The effects I want to have on the viewer are a sense of happiness and light heartedness.  Even though people might not know much about Greeklife at Miami, I hope they view my video as fun and can see from my pictures and my explanations that I love Greek life.  I also hope they learned from my video and know more about Greek life now that I have explained it a little bit.  I think it’s always good for an audience to be able to relate to a certain part of the presentation and I think since I explain reasons TO and NOT to rush, the audience should be able to identify with one of them.

2) I went about achieving my intended effects by putting fun pictures into my video and upbeat music in the background.  I think music is the main component of making something sad or happy.

3) The rhetorical moves I made in my video were comparison, colors, sound, and images.  I have a lot of images in my video and audiences always like to view different pictures.  I used comparisons for the audience members to be able to relate to my video.  I used bright and fun colors to show the happy mood and I used black and white pictures mainly for the historic miami to show the age of the school.  The sounds used were to invoke happy feelings.

4) The anxiety invoked when making this video was not knowing where to start and what images/ideas to put into my video.  The only anxiety I have now to show the class and to circulate it on facebook and youtube and those type of venues is just lack of self confidence.  I dont want people to think my video isn’t good or think it was a stupid topic to choose for this inquiry. I think my response on facebook and email will be a positive one because the chi omegas that watch it will be proud of it and happy that I am so proud of Chi Omega too.  I mean I’m sure some people will watch it and think it’s stupid if they don’t like Chi Omega for some particular reason but that is out of my hands.

5) When making this video, having the five components of digital delivery as a part of the video making project made the project alot more difficult.  Of course I would have been the easiest to be told we can make a video about anything we want as long as it answers an inquiry question, no guidelines, and just a due date.  However, after fully completing this project I think it helped to have to think more deeply about this project.  It helped me learn what digital delivery is and the different components are.  If I hadn’t looked at those guidelines and different parts of digital delivery, I never would have thought about how some of the things in my video would effect or not effect certain people.  I think overall it helped to have to think deeper about this project.

6) The body/identity aspect of digital delivery resonated the most with me in this project.  I think my main focus in this video was making my video appealing to my audience.  I wanted all types of audience members, no matter what gender or ethnicity, to enjoy my video.  I wanted to add fun pictures, songs, and videos to engage the audience.  I hope that everyone in the audience learns from my video and when, in the future, they hear about greek life they will think about my video.  I hope they will have a more positive outlook on Greek life if they had a negative outlook on it before viewing my video.

7) The component of digital delivery that was least helpful to me was the access/accessibility component.  Of course I know that some people aren’t able to view this video if they don’t have a computer, but I think when I was making this video I assumed that the people that would be watching it would have access to a computer.  That probably isn’t such a good thing that I assumed that of the audience, but it just happened to be what I did.  I did, however, consider the ethnicity aspect of my audience.  I don’t think with this topic there was much of a way to ensure that Greek life isn’t an “only Caucasian” event, but I hope i explained that anyone can join Greek life if they want to.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts